Home > Members > Academic > Chris Reason

Chris Reason

Chris Reason

Department of Oceanography
RW James Building
University Avenue
University of Cape Town
Rondebosch, 7701, RSA

Ph: # (0)21 650 5311

Email: chris.reason(at)uct.ac.za
Website: http://sea.uct.ac.za


Southern Hemisphere climate variability, southern African rainfall variability, mesoscale and coastal meteorology, tropical meteorology and oceanography, severe weather, ocean-atmosphere interactions, Indian and South Atlantic Oceans, Southern Ocean, ocean and atmospheric modelling.

Professional Affiliations:

GOOS– Indian Ocean Panel; ARGO – Geophysical reseach letters, Internation Journal of Climatology, AGU Publications Committee, American Meteorological Society Chair of Committee on Southern Hemisphere Meteorology and Oceanography, SASAS council

Latest Publications:

  1. Hermes, J. and C.J.C. Reason, 2009: The sensitivity of the Seychelles-Chagos Thermocline Ridge to large scale wind anomalies. ICES Journal of Marine Science Special Issue: proceedings of the International Symposium on Effects of Climate Change on the World’s Oceans, 66, 1455-1466, doi: 10.1093/icesjms/fsp074.
  2. Hansingo, K. and C.J.C. Reason, 2009: Modelling the atmospheric response over southern Africa to SST forcing in the southeast tropical Atlantic and southwest subtropical Indian Oceans. Int. J. Climatol., 29, 1001-1012.
  3. Pohl, B., Fauchereau, N., Reason, C.J.C. and Rouault, M., 2010: Relationships between the Antarctic Oscillation, the Madden-Julian Oscillation and ENSO, and consequences for rainfall analysis. J. Climate, 23, 238-254.
  4. Mafimbo, A., and C.J.C. Reason, 2010: Air-Sea Interaction over the upwelling region of the Somali coast. J. Geophys. Res., 115, C01001,doi:10.1029/2009JC005439.
  5. Backeberg, B. C., and C. J. C. Reason (2010), A connection between the South Equatorial Current north of Madagascar and Mozambique Channel Eddies,Geophys. Res. Lett., 37, L04604, doi:10.1029/2009GL041950



Brandon Wolding
Desmond Manatsa
Andrew Birkett
Nicholas Moyo


Ross Blamey
Neil Hart
Charine Collins
Brett Kuyper
Natalie Burls
Ben Loveday
Obadias Cossa
Fialho Nehama
Majuto Manyilizu
Penny Driver


Dr Carl Palmer

Related Websites: